Blue Ink Playwriting AwardWe are seeking submissions of new plays for our 2014 award. The winning play will be selected by the theater’s award-winning Ensemble. The winner of this annual competition will be awarded the Blue Ink Playwriting Award of $1,000 and receive a staged reading at American Blues Theater in Chicago.

The Blue Ink Playwriting Award was created in 2010 to support new work.

Submissions will be accepted by American Blues Theater from July 1, 2013 to September 1, 2013.  Playwrights may only submit one (1) manuscript each year for consideration.


Previous winners include Elaine Romero’s Graveyard of Empires (2013), Christina Gorman’s American Myth (2012), and Stephanie Walker’s American Home (2011). In addition we’ve named four (4) finalists and fourteen honorable mentions.

Share This
Skip to content